Military Order of the Iron Mike Award

The Marine Corps League's annual Military Order of the Iron Mike Award was established by the Marine Corps League for the purpose of honoring a person who has most significantly contributed to the United States of America and the United States Marine Corps. The award is named for the landmark statue, "Iron Mike," located at the Marine Corps Recruit Depot, Parris Island, South Carolina.  The statue and the Iron Mike Award symbolize courage, tenacity and distinguished leadership.

The National Commandant of the Marine Corps League
takes pleasure in conferring the
Military Order of the Iron Mike Award
Congressman Mac Thornberry
in recognition of service as set forth in the following citation:

For exceptional meritorious service to his country and the Unites States Marine Corps.

Since joining the United States Congress in 1995, Congressman Thornberry has been an outstanding champion for all U. S. service members and their families.  Even before being selected to lead the House Armed Services Committee in the 114th Congress, Chairman Thornberry put himself at the forefront of national security legislation.  He was in the lead in the effort to create the Department of Homeland Security, authored vital cyber-security legislation, and played a key role in ensuring the security of our nation's nuclear enterprise.  As Chairman of the House Armed Services Committee, Chairman Thornberry is committed to ensuring the nation has the military capability and capacity to protect the homeland and defend out interests around the world.  Under his leadership, his committee is continuing its well-deserved reputation for ensuring our Soldiers, Sailors, Airmen, Marines and Coast Guardsmen have the equipment, training, and support they need to fight and win our nation's battles.

It is with honor and pride that all members of the Marine Corps League salute Congressman Thornberry, and confer upon him this year's Military Order of the Iron Mike award.


Year  Recipient
1967  Bob Hope
   Larry Burrows
   Lee Marvin
   John Russell
1968 Howard K. Smith
1969 Barry Zorthian
1970 H. Ross Perot
1971 John Wayne
1972 Donald E. Johnson
1973 The Honorable John H. Warner, Secretary of the Navy
1974 General Lewis W. Walt
1975 General Louis H. Wilson
1976 Edward McMahon
1977 Father Corvet
1978 Dewey F. Bartlett
1979 Congressman Robert Wilson R-CA
1980 Ambassador Kenneth Taylor
1981 James Brady
  Thomas Delehany
     John McCarthey
1982 Phil I. Berman
1984 Robert Conrad
1985 Robert W. Olian
1986 Donald T. Reagan (Chief of Staff)
1987 The Honorable James Webb, Secretary of the Navy
1988 Congressman John P. Murtha D-PA
1989 Congressman David O. B. Martin D-NY
1990  Congressman C. W. Bill Young R-FL
1991 General A. M. Gray, Jr., 29th Commandant of the Marine Corps
1992 Senator Simms
1993 Arnold Punaro (Staffer for Senator Sam Nunn D-GA)
1994 Major General Walter A. Churchill, USMC (Ret.), PNC
1995 Congressman Gerald B. H. Solomon R-NY
1996 Congressman Ike Skelton D-MO
1997 Senator Dirk Kempthorne D-ID
1998  Senator Conrad Burns R-MT
1999 Senator Chuck Robb D-VA
2000 James F. Jordan, Esq
2001 Senator Zell Miller D-GA
2002 Alfred Lerner
2003 Senator John W. Warner R-VA
2004 General Raymond G. Davis, MOH, USMC (Ret.) (Posthumously)
2005 Congressman Jerry Lewis R-CA
2006 Colonel Harvey C. "Barney" Barnum, Jr, MOH, USMC (Ret.)
2007 General Peter Pace, USMC (Ret.)
2008 Mr. Arnold Fisher
2009 Major General Donald R. Gardner, USMC (Ret.)
2010 Lieutenant General George R. (Ron) Christmas, USMC (Ret.)
2011 Major Paul F. Hastings, USMC (Ret.), PNC
2012 Sergeant Major W. Carlton Kent, The 16th Sergeant Major of the Marine Corps (Ret.)
2013 Colonel Tim Maxwell, USMC (Ret.)
2014 Congressman Howard P. "Buck" McKeon R-CA
2015 Congressman Mac Thornberry R-TX
   Congratulation and Semper Fi!



Incorporated by an act of Congress in 1937, the Marine Corps League perpetuates the traditions and spirit of ALL Marines who proudly wear or who have worn the eagle, globe and anchor of the Corps.